Around AOTF ×
Platforms
More
    News

    Dragon Quest XI Nintendo Direct Coming June 21

    | @Hijinx_23 | 2 months ago

    Dragon Quest XI

    Nintendo has announced it will be streaming a Dragon Quest XI: In Search of Departed Time-themed Direct event on June 21 at 20:00 JST (7am EST/4am PST).

    Square Enix made the interesting move of developing two different versions (three if you count the Switch version) of its latest DQ entry: one for the PlayStation 4 and the other for the Nintendo 3DS. Since it was announced, Square Enix has revealed that many core features in the game will differ from one another depending on which you version you own. For example, the PS4 version has features which include two battle styles, Bowgun Adventure and Magic Slot. On the other hand, the only confirmed difference on the 3DS is its use of StreetPass to summon creatures known as “Incarnations of Time.”

    As mentioned in the release, the Direct will focus on the 3DS version of Dragon Quest XI, so hopefully Nintendo and Square Enix give more details about the StreetPass feature and maybe even reveal more version-exclusive content. However, since Nintendo appears to be intent on only talking about the 3DS version during the stream, it isn’t likely we’ll hear anything about the upcoming Switch version.

    Dragon Quest XI: In Search of Departed Time will launch for the 3DS and PlayStation 4 on July 29 in Japan. The Switch version has yet to have a release date.

    Say Something